The 5 Love Languages – 5 Keys To A Stronger Relationship

This might seem a little off topic considering my blog focus is to give people practical advice for anxiety and stress relief. However, relationships have been a huge contributing factor to a lot of the anxiety and stress in my life over the years and the 5 Love Languages speak volumes for me.

The 5 love languages truly are the 5 keys to a stronger relationship. They are so powerful for the strength of every relationship and so much more important than people give them credit for; I feel compelled to share them. If you’ve never heard of the 5 love languages, they easily spell out the 5 different types of love that someone may prefer to receive, or give.

1. Words of Affirmation

This love language provides comfort and reassurance through words. Someone who prefers this type of love is someone who loves to receive compliments frequently from their partner. They may also need to be reminded of how much they are loved and cared about more frequently than others

2. Gifts

The people who prefer this love language are people who love to receive gifts. This doesn’t have to mean they are shallow or materialistic, so don’t get your panties in a wad. Gifts could be anything big or small. A flower that was picked outside, a favorite item or snack from the store, or a video game/movie your partner has been wanting.

3. Acts of Service

If acts of service is your love language, you are someone who loves your partner to do things for you that make your life easier. Examples of this are picking the kids up from school, doing the dishes, or rubbing your shoulders when you’ve had a stressful day.

4. Quality Time

This one is pretty straight forward. Someone who prefers this love language loves to spend quality time with their partner above all else. This might mean staying at home and watching TV together, going to dinner together, or doing other activities that they enjoy doing as a couple

5. Physical Touch

Those who prefer this love language are fulfilled by the physical touch of their partner. This could mean many things, including holding hands, cuddling, or simple having their arms around one another.

For some, this may seem unimportant and they may think their partner should accept any love they have to offer and be happy they are getting it. This is so profoundly mistaken and definitely not the way to feel 100% fulfilled in your relationship.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying this has to be extremely important is ALL relationships, but if you are someone who doesn’t accept mediocrity like myself this is crucial. I want to feel absolutely satisfied and fulfilled in my relationship and someone who can’t provide me with my preferred love language is not going to be the person for me, and that’s okay!

My Results

Being someone who is easily stressed out by life and many times is dealing with anxiety for no apparent reason, my preferred love language is acts of service. I love for someone to do anything they can to make things easier on me and relieve some stresses off my shoulders.

On the other hand, physical touch is one of my least preferred love languages. I am not fulfilled emotionally in my relationship just by someone touching me, I need more.

So if someone didn’t understand the difference or wasn’t picking up on my preferred love language, it could cause me to be unhappy and unfulfilled in my relationship.

I have found that depending on my mood and mental health levels, my love languages may even shift from time to time based on my current needs.

Love the Way You Are Loved

If you have a better understanding of how your partner prefers to receive love, you can make astronomically positive changes in your relationship just by making simple changes!

There are even apps out there that allow you and your partner to take a short quiz to help you determine what your love languages are. They go into much more detail on the types of things you can do to make sure you are showing your partner the type of love they prefer to receive. The app that I used is called Love Nudge and it was completely free to get my results!

I hope this information was insightful for you and you are able to immediately make small changes to build a stronger relationship with your partner by showing them the love they love to receive!



  • Madlen

    Wow! I really enjoyed reading your article, for me I feel like I need all of those combined to feel happy and satisfied! It’s never one without the other! I believe there’s a certain time for each of these languages and most of the times it happens naturally!
    l also like how your website looks; very soothing and relaxing!

    • Kay

      I definitely agree! I do have my preferable languages, but we do need a combination of all of them to feel happy and satisfied!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  • Jennifer Riffle

    Hi I really liked your site very helpful and easy to read.I think we all could use a little love in our life it definitely helps people with anxiety .You have to know your partner and learn how to help eacher as well as you can.I look forward to reading more of your writing keep it coming thank you Jenn

  • Max

    Hey Kay,

    You’ve done it again! Another great article.

    I have found through my experience that the love languages are different for men and women. I find that men will require communication in some forms of love language while women might prefer others. I also agree that they will shift from time to time.

    I guess its because I am a man, but I think the physical touch is my favorite. I love shoulder massages and a good back scratching, as well as a good head massage. If my partner is willing to do these things for me they can stay as long as they want!

    Thanks again for the great post.



    • Kay

      Thank you for sharing, Max! It is so important to understand the differences for each person as none of us are the same and our love language may be the same but that doesn’t mean we need it in the same exact ways!

  • Maria

    I’ve heard about languages of love, unfortunately, after my relationship fell apart, anyways, it’s a good thing to know when you start a new relationship, and by the way, restoring from the past I (or any person) can use these languages to express love for yourself. And sometimes it is even more important! Thanks for this informative post)

    • Kay

      You are absolutely right, that is a great point! We have to know ourselves well enough to know what love language we prefer not only so others can show us that love, but also so we can show ourselves that love! Thanks for sharing your input!

  • Dereck

    What a cool article! Straight to the point and easy to understand. It really can be the little things in life that make a big difference in the level of happiness of you and your partner. By taking the time to find out what makes your partner happy, and showing them through these ways can make a world of difference. Thanks for your insight!

Leave a Reply to Kay Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *